Decisions and Vulnerability

Gratitude List:
1.  The way decisions grow and bloom.  You put that seed in the soil there and you say, “Hmmm.  Maybe?”  And then you come back to it a few days later, and–Lo and Behold!–something is growing!  And sometimes the bean you planted comes up, and sometimes something else is there.  Then you decide whether to uproot that or to tend it.  The year we began farming here, we planted watermelons in plastic planting trays.  As we were transplanting them out into the field, I came upon a little square where a tiny nettle was growing instead of a watermelon.  Nine years later, after that watermelon field has been tilled under and re-used for beans, for tomatoes, for squash, for peas, the nettle patch down by the parking lot is growing strong and lush.  Ah, decisions. . .
2.  The way, when you touch the wounded place and say
“This makes me feel vulnerable.  This makes me feel weak,”
the way that makes you real,
the way it makes me less afraid.
When you say,
“This is despair.  This is burnout,”
then all the rest of us can sigh,
then all the rest of us can say,
“So that is what it is.”
Then all the rest of us
can feel so much less alone.
3.  Orchard oriole in the back trees.
Baltimore in the the front.
4.  The bins are washed,
the market room is clean.
Today we harvest.
Today a new season begins!
5.  Possibilities.

May we walk in Beauty!

5 thoughts on “Decisions and Vulnerability

    • Thank you! I keep coming back around to this in my life. How expressing vulnerability can be one of the strongest things. I’m not so good at it myself, but I am learning because there are so many wise teachers about.

      Like

  1. Hello there, I discovered your site by msans of Google whilst looking for a
    comparable topic, you website got here up, it seems to be good.
    I’ve bookmarfked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply was aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll
    appreciate for those who proceed this in future. Many folks will probably
    be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

What do you think?

