Green Fire

Here’s the beginning of something.  My poet-mind is distracted these days.  I have been reading a little Aldo Leopold for a class I need to take.  The Green Fire has caught my attention.  This is unfinished, but there are stacks of grading to be done.

“We reached the old wolf in time to watch a fierce green fire dying in her eyes. I realized then, and have known ever since, that there was something new to me in those eyes – something known only to her and to the mountain.”  –Aldo Leopold

Only the mountain knows perhaps
where the green fire is kindled
how the viridian flame leaps
down the slopes and into the hollows
how it broods in the deep crevasse
enkindles in every womb
caterpillar and field mouse
wolf and deer and human
how it shines behind the eye.

Perhaps the desert too
has pondered with the mountain
the quiet licking emerald ember that
touched by the merest drop of moisture
tenders into flame
drawing forth
the impossible sprout from the seed

 

Gratitude List:
1.  That song about Divine Mystery being the Beauty of a raven.  Joyful is the dark.
2.  Gathering with friends on a mountain.  Everybody laughing, singing, eating together.
3.  A new week, full of potential and promise.
4.  How the clock seemed to stop this morning at 5 and drag the minutes slowly until 5:30.  I don’t know how much I slept in that time, but I needed the sense that I was sleeping in.
5.  This work of loving.  Even when it hurts because the one you hold is hurting.

May we walk in Beauty!

Leave a Reply

