Meadow of Grace

Dear Shining Souls,
I am ready to give up on us right about now.
Not you.  Not me.  Us: humanity.
Some days, I just can’t find my way
through the forest of horrors.

But how can I stay here in these dark woods
when those who lost the most
are already walking into the green fields of grace,
hands extended in forgiveness?

Oh Dear and Shining Souls.
People.  I keep forgetting
that we’re such a mixed bag.
Sometimes our worst
shows us our best.

I will follow those families
out into the sunlight
and hope to learn grace.

At least for now,
I will join this circle.
Take my hand,
and we will watch
those nine bright birds
wheeling in the sky above us.

640px-Candle (1)

Leave a Reply

