Following Mary Oliver

Recently I read Mary Oliver’s poem “Gratitude.”  I am going to use her format–though not intentionally as a poem–tonight for my own list.  It pushes me beyond my standard five-part format.  Perhaps I’ll keep working with this, maybe making up my own questions.

Gratitude:
What did you notice?
The tang of tomato and the crunch of green beans.

What did you hear?
The sweet chipping of the little rusty-capped sparrows.
The mockingbird, irrepressible, in the  dead chestnut tree.

What did you admire?
The regal red of the cardinal.

What astonished you?
The ten spikes on the abdomen of the spiny orb weaver.

What would you like to see again?
The bright black eyes of the jumping spider, watching me.

What was most tender?
The half-smile on a small boy’s face as he wished me luck before a game.

What was most wonderful?
Being in the breezes.

May we walk in Beauty!

What do you think?

