Stones and Words

Carin

Gratitude List:
1. Last night’s late-night conversation, like John O’Donohue describes, where “you heard yourself receiving from somebody words that absolutely found places within you that you thought you had lost and a sense of an event of a conversation that brought the [group] of you on to a different plane.”
2. “The winds are changing.”  And the moment in a thoughtful conversation when someone starts to stitch the narrative together with a simple phrase that holds the weight of the conversation like strong spider silk.  This is the furthest thing from a platitude–it’s more like a group mantra.  And it gets taken up like a little chorus, with a rueful smile or a sudden moment of eye contact, repeated from one person to another: “The winds are changing.”  We recognize in the moment something of how very different our lives are and how very the same.
3. How the conversation continues over time.  It isn’t really separate conversations that take place year to year to year, but one long conversation that builds on itself.  How a word gets used today that rings a bell in memory and draws out an image of the same word used in the same space with the same people, a year ago, or two, or three.  How meaning evolves, not just within myself, but in the group.
4. Preparing the heart space.  So much work remains to be done, but the work on the heart moves on apace.
5. Presence.  I have so much to learn about being truly Present.  I think this may be one of the Next Steps.

So much Love.

4 thoughts on “Stones and Words

  1. Yes Beth. Yesterday in my quiet time the focus was on being fully present. This morning I opened my eyes, stood in the darkness of my bedroom and spoke these words: today I will be present…

    Of course I will fail to be present more than I will be present but this is the goal of my life from now on, the way I will be fully alive.

    Your blog is that for me. Present. Alive. Full.

    Like

    • Thank you. ❤ I am grateful that the blog helps you to be present and alive. Last night in the midst of the conversations with friends–conversations beautiful and painful–one woman reminded us of the point that Glennon Doyle makes in her Momastery blog, that sometimes the best we can do is just to commit to being present for the next thing. And then we decide about the following step when we get there. I like that. Simple steps.

      Bright Blessings to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

