An Open Letter

Today’s Prompt is An Open Letter.  I am so beaten up by this bad cold that I can’t even think straight to write.

An Open Letter to the Bug

I don’t even know what to call you:
A Bad Cold? Feverless Flu? Exasperation?
Whatever.  I concede.  You’ve got me.

I knew going in to that family party three days ago
that I was already sunk, but I struggled onward,
enjoyed the day, and likely infected at least three loved ones.

By yesterday, I was sure I was back on my feet again
but you laid me so low, I couldn’t even taste
that sweet potato casserole, that shoo-fly pie.

Today was just a blur of throwing good money
after bad.  I can just do this one more thing,
I thought, but I’m a goner now, for sure.

I’ll soak myself in Ny-Quil
and sleep you out of my system.

What do you think?

