The Moment

I lay down for a nap, to try to sleep off some of this fog.  I thought that perhaps I could catch a fish from the dream-stream for the poem that I am to write today.  The prompt is “let the moment begin.”  When I woke up, the last line of this poem that I wrote in April of 2014 was singing itself over and over again in my head.  It took me about half an hour to realize it was my own.

Prayer

To wait within the moment for the coming dawn,
To breathe the single breath of all that lives,
To walk the web on which we all belong,
To face the newborn day with love instead of fear.

To listen for the whisper of the Spirit’s wind,
To feel Creator’s heartbeat in the world around,
To hear the grace of the Beloved in my neighbor’s voice,
To embrace the sacred space between the past and change.

* * * *

So, today’s poem might look a little like this:

Step into the stream of time and change,
feel the tug and swirl that draws you on,
swimming where the current takes you.
Say the words that hammer at your throat:

I am here.

And again, as you feel the current take you,
no longer the same here where you were:

I am here.  And here.  I am here.

Let it echo from the walls of your heart
as the stream bears you onward and outward.
Each time you say it, you burst into flame,
all flame, all wind, all perfect dreaming:

I am here.

Leave a Reply

