Nurse-Boy

phoenix
“If you will, you can become all flame,” said Abba Joseph to Abba Lot.

Gratitude List:
1. A small nurse-boy.  When they got home from their grandparents’ house yesterday, and I was waking up groggily and painfully from a nap, a small boy sprang into action.  He started rubbing my feet.  Then he called out to his dad, “Dad!  Bring her some food!”  Then he called out to his brother, “Hey!  Come rub her feet while I go get my violin and play her some music!”  No matter that he was doing his Worst-Whiner Schtick within minutes.  I felt greatly cared-for.
2. Feeling better.  I knew it would happen.  I still sound like a granddaddy bullfrog, and I look pretty pale and ashen, but I feel so much better.
3. This Advent course that a friend gave me.  It’s from Cynthia Bourgeault’s Spirituality and Practice group.  It is on the spirituality of the desert abbas and ammas.  I am learning lots.  Today’s lesson is hard.  It’s good for me.
4. Shifting practices.  I will continue to write regular poems, but I am glad for a break from the prompts for a while.  Imposed discipline from the outside is important, but then it needs to settle into the corners a bit.
5. Brownies

May we walk in Beauty!

2 thoughts on “Nurse-Boy

  1. … ahh, but the grace of nap … remembering there is no growth without suffering AND the small nurse-boy to ease it, bullfrog or not … feeling better .. priceless brownies.

    Like

What do you think?

