Rainy Saturday Morning

DSCN9295
Rainy morning in Skunk Hollow.  The birds and I are loving it.  The farmer, not so much.

Gratitude List:
1. Bored Shorts: Kid History and Kidsnippets.  I know, it’s weird to have a media thing for a gratitude, but I love this group of brothers and their friends who decided to not stop playing together even when they grew up, and so they get their kids to tell them stories, and then they act them out, using the kids’ voices and lip-syncing to the words.  It’s one of those things that makes me want to be a more attentive and engaged parent, to make sure that I am offering my children plenty of safe and comfortable spaces to play and have fun with each other.
2. The lightheartedness and humor that my children’s teachers bring to them, the way they build classroom community.  Laughter and joy are community-building.  This is one of those things that makes me want to be a better teacher, to make sure that I am offering my students plenty of safe and comfortable moments to laugh and have fun with each other.
3. The activity of the Goldfinch Farm birds in the rain this morning: phoebe and oriole and wren, chickadee and titmouse, flitting through the raindrops.
4. Nettle tea and elderberry syrup.  So far, I am mostly coping with allergy season again.  Omitting dairy from my diet seems to help, too.  (I know this helps because when I cheat and eat cheese, then I feel miserable.)
5. There is definitely a light at the end of the tunnel.  I glimpsed it briefly yesterday.

May we walk in Beauty!

Leave a Reply

