Shelter

14843892543621792575546

I’m posting this from my phone. Not a fan of tiny typing, but I’m at the Women’s Winter Shelter, and this is what I have.

Jon and I took the second shift, which means we “slept” from 10 to 2, and we’re the watchers now until six when the other volunteers wake up, and we start new coffee and begin waking up the guests.  There’s a woman here tonight with three children. One is a baby. One is a boy between the ages of our boys. I am trying to imagine what it might be like to be alone with three children and no place to go but an emergency shelter. What reserves of strength must she need to seek? We can offer a night of safety and as peaceful an atmosphere as we can muster. I hope she did get some sleep. I haven’t heard the baby in the night, so at least she has that. (I made little hearts to keep myself awake.)

Gratitude List:
1. Shelter
2. More brilliant moments with the moon.
3. Yarn and a stick.
4. Standing in the gap.
5. Resolve.

May we walk in Beauty.

Leave a Reply

